Eastwind Import is your online shop for Japanese & European jazz CDs & LPs, and a great resource for audiophiles!
   Shopping Cart:  Now in your Cart
Latest News
* Check out items with reduced prices! Go to the ON SALE section for LPs & CDs up to 50% off!
* Check out the new Single Layer SACD reissue series from Venus Records in the SACD-Jazz section!
* Take a look at our Jazz vinyl LP selection!!
* Special audiophile formats from Japan: SHM-SACD, Blu-spec CD, HQCD and SHM-CD!
Featured Products
Audio Gear
New Arrivals
Jazz CD - Labels
Rare Reissues
Big Band
Vinyl - Jazz
Vinyl - Other
Classical - Labels
Gold CD
Blu-spec CD
Artist: A-E
Artist: F-J
Artist: K-O
Artist: P-T
Artist: U-Z
Follow us on Facebook and Eastwind Import Blog!

If you want to receive our email newsletter, please sign up here.

Our mobile site is now up and running! Now you can browse and purchase any product with ease using your smartphone!

Product Details

Dark Beauty by Kenny Drew Trio
Dark Beauty by Kenny Drew Trio at Eastwind Import
<<Back to Search Results Listings

In stock: Ships within 2 business days

Artist/Band:Kenny Drew Trio
Name:Dark Beauty
Cat No.:VACZ-1121
Performed by:Kenny Drew (piano)
Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen (bass)
Albert "Tootie" Heath (drums)
Release Date:03/19/2008
Description:SteepleChase Classics - Limited Paper Sleeve Edition

Kenny Drew (1928-1993) was an extraordinary bebop-oriented pianist who recorded with Howard McGhee, Buddy DeFranco, Charlie Parker and John Coltrane (the famous album Blue Train) before moving to Denmark in 1961. While he sacrificed much of the interest of the American jazz audience, he gained a wide following across Europe, and by extension, in Japan.

Dark Beauty, recorded in 1974 with Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen and Albert "Tootie" Heath, became a break-out hit that helped advance Drew's acclaim. On this album he displays tremendous pianistic skills, intelligent and advanced harmonic sensibilities and driving sense of swing. Pedersen is featured throughout, and his solos demonstrate awe-inspiring technique and imagination.

This CD edition contains three bonus tracks which did not appear in the original LP ("A Felicidade," "In Your Own Sweet Way" and "A Stranger In Paradise").

Recorded in Copenhagen, May 21 & 22, 1974. Originally released by SteepleChase Records in 1974. This reissue CD -- special limited paper sleeve edition -- released in Japan by Videoarts Music on March 19, 2008.
Eastwind Import Price:
Add to Cart 

Album Tracks:
1. Run AwayMP3 Sample
2. Dark Beauty
3. Summer Night
4. All BluesMP3 Sample
5. A FelicidadeMP3 Sample
6. It Could Happen To You
7. Love Letters
8. Silk Bossa
9. Blues Inn
10. In Your Own Sweet Way
11. Stranger In Paradise
We Accept
Acceptance Mark
Home   |   Products   |   About Us   |   How to Order   |   Shopping Cart   |   Contact Us   |   Links
Copyright © 2020 Eastwind Import. All Rights Reserved.